What is Digital Inclusion?
Digital inclusion involves the activities necessary to bridge the digital divide, the gap between individuals in their access to and also in their skill levels to comfortably and safely use computers and the internet. The City of Madison Information Technology (IT) department has identified digital inclusion as a key strategic priority and has launched several inquiries, programs, and initiatives to enhance digital equity through the years.
In addition to the ongoing work we do at the Library and throughout the City of Madison, we've curated a list of community organizations and businesses in Dane County that provide internet and device access, digital skills training, and technology.
Digital Skills Support
Madison Public Library runs digital literacy and tech classes, in addition to one-on-one computer training and support.
- DANEnet
Provides Dane County nonprofits and other community anchor institutions digital skills training.
- Literacy Network
Offers digital literacy classes to low-income individuals who live permanently in the U.S.
- Lussier Community Education Center
Provides workforce and technology skills training.
- Madison College Library (Informational)
Offers resources on digital citizenship.
- Madison Senior Center
Offers digital literacy classes for older adults.
- New Bridge
Provides digital skills classes for older adults.
- YWCA (Web Career Academy)
Training women and people of color to become web developers and designers.
- Urban League of Greater Madison
Offers digital resources to empower community members.
- YWCA (Web Career Academy)
Training women and people of color to become web developers and designers.
- Latin Academy of Workforce Development
Provides linguistically and culturally competent adult education programming.
- CEOs of Tomorrow
Delivers mentorship and educational programs aimed at nurturing future business leaders.
- The Hmong Institute
Empowers individuals within the Hmong community to pursue higher education.
- Wisconsin Regional Training Partnership (WRTP)
Offers students the opportunity to learn from skilled tradespeople.
- Bayview Foundation (NorthStar)
Provides self-guided modules about essential computer and online skills.
- Goodman Community Center
Offers weekly tech assistance to individuals aged 50 and older.
- The Hmong Institute (periodic)
Empowers individuals within the Hmong community to pursue higher education.
- Madison Senior Center
Offers digital literacy classes for older adults.
- MTZ (Mt. Zion) Charitable Organization
Delivers digital skills classes and events for older adults.
- New Bridge
Provides digital skills classes for older adults.
Access
Madison Public Library offers access to public computers, laptops, printing and copying, and free WiFi.
- AT&T Access
Offers low-cost internet service for $30/month, based on the speed available at your address. Participation in government programs can qualify you for these discounts.
- Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment Local Planning Grant Program (BEAD)
Provides funding for Wisconsin counties and federally recognized Tribes to participate in broadband deployment planning.
- Dane County Broadband Task Force
Maps broadband internet access for Dane County residents.
- Metropolitan Unified Fiber Network (MUFN)
A fiber-optic network serving schools, healthcare, government, and nonprofits in Madison, Middleton, and Monona.
- PSC partnerships and Internet Discount Finder
Assists in finding affordable home internet based on eligibility.
- Spectrum Internet Assist
Offers affordable internet plans for low-income households, providing reliable service at reduced rates. Participation in government programs can qualify you for these discounts.
- T-Mobile
Provides discounted internet to eligible low-income households. Participation in government programs can qualify you for these discounts.
- Public City buildings
Access free Wi-Fi in government buildings.
- Local businesses (via WiFi Map)
Available at some local businesses. May require a purchase or customer status to access WiFi.
- East Madison Community Center
Provides a computer lab available for adults.
- Goodman Community Center
Provides laptops available for use under supervision.
- Memorial Library at UW-Madison
Non-UW students may obtain a day pass once every 7 days, or visitors can apply for a Community Borrowing Card or an Extended Day Pass. Computer labs require a UW NetID and password but wireless devices can connect as a guest to UWNet.
- Neighborhood House Community Center
Provides a technology lab, free and accessible to everyone.
- Wisconsin Historical Society Library
UWNet Wi-Fi accessible throughout, with tables and seating available in the Library Reading Room on the 2nd floor.
- DANEnet
Provides Dane County nonprofits and other community anchor institutions affordable devices and tech support.
- Lussier Community Education Center
Computer use includes access to laptops and free printing, faxing, and scanning services.
- Madison Metropolitan School District
Provides Chromebooks that students in grades 5 through 12 can take home.
- Neighborhood House Community Center
Provides a technology lab, free and accessible to everyone.
- UW Madison (Computer Lending Program)
Offers students and staff/faculty semester-long laptop and week-long hot spot modem loans.
- T-Mobile
Provides qualifying households with free digital hotspot and free 100gb of data for five years.
Free Tech Support
DANEnet
Provides free computer classes and tech repair clinics via the Digital Equity Project.
Join Our List of Services
Are you a local community or business partner offering low-cost or free broadband, digital literacy or workforce skills training, device access/support, or other digital equity initiatives? Reach out to digitalinclusion@cityofmadison.com to see about getting your services added to our list of local resources.