History

Genealogy

Historical Newspapers

Obituaries

Library Databases

History Websites

Related Resources

Genealogy from Madison Public Library

Genealogy Subject Guide

Obituary Information

Historical Newspapers

Madison Public Library databases and full print issues of local newspapers

Wisconsin Historical Society Newspapers

City Directories

Madison Public Library City Directories

University of Wisconsin Digital Collection Center

Browse early Madison City Directories

Library Databases

Academic Search Premier

Articles from 4,700+ full-text publications in the fields of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and more; includes over 4,000 peer-reviewed journals | more info »
This resource is available to all library users via BadgerLink.

EBSCO Español

Punto de acceso a bases de datos de EBSCOhost españolas. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users via BadgerLink.

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost includes thousands of indexed magazines, many full-text, for over fifteen years. Magazine coverage ranges from the popular to the academic. Also includes electronic content on business, medical information, and much more. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users via BadgerLink.

History Reference Source

Instant access to a full-text history reference database featuring reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, including photos. | more info »
This resource is available to all library users via BadgerLink.

Profiles of Wisconsin, 2022/23

profiles of wisconsin
Profiles of Wisconsin provides data and insight into the makeup of the state of Wisconsin, including population statistics, geography, political maps, and more. | more info »
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.

History Websites

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. | more info »

Forest Hills Cemetery Burial Records search

In 1857, the City of Madison purchased a tract of land with a lovely view overlooking the entire city and the surrounding lakes. Even today, this tree-lined cemetery, located on Speedway Road, retains an original park-like atmosphere with winding roads and flowerbeds. | more info »

Historic Madison Photos Circa 1890

The Library of Congress has an online exhibit called American Memory. It includes photos from the Detroit Publishing Co. collection. You can search the collection by keyword. Type "Madison and Wisconsin" and see what you get. | more info »

Ho-Chunk History - Wisconsin Public Television

By the banks of the Lemonweir River in what for ages had been Ho-Chunk territory, Andy Thundercloud shares the oral tradition of his people. Part of WPT's Tribal Histories series. | more info »

Madison Living History

The Madison Living History Project is a place to share stories and images related to Madison’s history. These are snapshots of Madison neighborhoods, places, people, and events conveyed through conversations with and stories from community members. | more info »

Municipal Records, Office of the Secretary of State of Wisconsin

Search the digital archives of municipal records by counties and cities housed at the Secretary of State of Wisconsin. Some records go back to the mid-1800s. | more info »

Origins of Some Madison, Wisconsin Street Names

Origins of Some Madison, Wisconsin Street Names | more info »

People's Stories of South Madison

David Giffey's collection of stories from the residents of the South Madison neighborhood. | more info »

University of Wisconsin Digital Collections

Links to online exhibits, many featuring aspects of Wisconsin history including a full collection of Wisconsin Blue Books, as well as materials from all University of Wisconsin campuses and many Wisconsin public libraries. | more info »

Wisconsin Historical Society

Offers a number of links (under Archives) to sites of historical interest in Wisconsin. For the holdings of the State Historical Society, use the University of Wisconsin-Madison's card catalog. | more info »

Wisconsin Veterans Museum

The purpose of the Wisconsin Veterans Museum is to commemorate, acknowledge, and affirm the role of Wisconsin veterans in America’s military past by means of instructive exhibits and other educational programs. | more info »


Related Resources

Personal Archiving Lab

A collection of equipment that can be used to digitize VHS tapes, photographs, and more

Madison Living History Project

The Madison Living History Project is a place to share stories and images related to Madison’s history