Madison Area Resources

Explore Madison

Madison Bicycle Information

From the City of Madison. Links to bicycle maps, B-cycle, biking tips, programs, events, and more. | more info »

Madison Metro

From Metro Transit, Madison's public transit system. Includes routes, schedules, fare information, detours, and more. | more info »

Madison's Neighborhoods

Neighborhood associations, plans, businesses, profiles, and maps. | more info »

Newspapers and Magazines

Madison.com

Madison news and events. Includes Cap Times and Wisconsin State Journal. | more info »

Madison365

Madison365 aims to represent Greater Madison’s communities of color, and to foster dialog between members of diverse communities. | more info »

Wisconsin Historical Society Library

The Library-Archives Division collects, preserves, and makes available both published and unpublished materials about the history of Wisconsin, the United States and Canada. | more info »

Local History Websites

Forest Hills Cemetery Burial Records search

In 1857, the City of Madison purchased a tract of land with a lovely view overlooking the entire city and the surrounding lakes. Even today, this tree-lined cemetery, located on Speedway Road, retains an original park-like atmosphere with winding roads and flowerbeds. | more info »

Historic Madison Photos Circa 1890

The Library of Congress has an online exhibit called American Memory. It includes photos from the Detroit Publishing Co. collection. You can search the collection by keyword. Type "Madison and Wisconsin" and see what you get. | more info »

Madison Living History

The Madison Living History Project is a place to share stories and images related to Madison’s history. These are snapshots of Madison neighborhoods, places, people, and events conveyed through conversations with and stories from community members. | more info »

Municipal Records, Office of the Secretary of State of Wisconsin

Search the digital archives of municipal records by counties and cities housed at the Secretary of State of Wisconsin. Some records go back to the mid-1800s. | more info »

Origins of Some Madison, Wisconsin Street Names

Origins of Some Madison, Wisconsin Street Names | more info »

People's Stories of South Madison

David Giffey's collection of stories from the residents of the South Madison neighborhood. | more info »

Wisconsin Historical Society

Offers a number of links (under Archives) to sites of historical interest in Wisconsin. For the holdings of the State Historical Society, use the University of Wisconsin-Madison's card catalog. | more info »

Wisconsin Historical Society Library

The Library-Archives Division collects, preserves, and makes available both published and unpublished materials about the history of Wisconsin, the United States and Canada. | more info »

All Madison Area Websites

ACCESS Wisconsin

Find out if you are eligible to receive help through Wisconsin's health and nutrition programs. | more info »

Centro Hispano - Immigration Services

Centro Hispano offers immigration services including consultations, naturalization, permanent residence, DACA, and family assistance. Visit the web site for times and to make an appointment. This service has a minimum cost. | more info »

City of Madison Clerk

Information about where to vote in the City of Madison, absentee voting procedures and forms, and poll location hours. | more info »

City of Madison Government Resource Guide

From the City of Madison Common Council. Includes links to City informational documents, committees, commissions, departments, and more. | more info »

City of Madison Jobs

Find a career with the City of Madison | more info »

City of Madison Office of Business Resources

Provides services and assistance to businesses in the city. | more info »

City of Madison Open Data

Catalog of open data sets and visual tools from the City of Madison. | more info »

Covering Wisconsin

Covering Wisconsin is a nonprofit organization that helps people in Wisconsin find and use health insurance. Their Health Insurance Navigators provide free help any time. Contact a Navigator by calling 608-261-1455 or schedule online. | more info »

Dane County Job Center

The Dane County Job Center is a central location for people looking for work and businesses that need help finding qualified applicants. | more info »

Ex-Offender Toolkit

This Job Center resource includes the articles Criminal Records and Getting Back into the Work Force and Criminal Background Tips. | more info »

Food Business Development at UW Extension

The UW-Madison Extension's Community Food Systems Program focuses on supporting food entrepreneurs. | more info »

Forest Hills Cemetery Burial Records search

In 1857, the City of Madison purchased a tract of land with a lovely view overlooking the entire city and the surrounding lakes. Even today, this tree-lined cemetery, located on Speedway Road, retains an original park-like atmosphere with winding roads and flowerbeds. | more info »

Genealogy Tools from WHS

Includes records of births and deaths in Wisconsin prior to 1907, information about cemetery records , Wisconsin Name Index , a Civil War roster, and much more. | more info »

Homeless/Transitional Housing: Porchlight Madison

Porchlight strives to decrease the Dane County homeless population by providing shelter, housing, supportive services, and a sense of community in ways that empower residents and program participants to positively shape their lives. | more info »

Homeless/Transitional Housing: YWCA Madison

YWCA Madison has designed several services that help women and their families find their place in the world. | more info »

Job Center of Wisconsin

Look for jobs, fill out applications, write resumes, and more. Great starting site. | more info »

Legal Action of Wisconsin

Legal Action of Wisconsin provides free legal services to low-income people, in areas including Family Law, Housing Law, Reentry, and more | more info »

Madison Bicycle Information

From the City of Madison. Links to bicycle maps, B-cycle, biking tips, programs, events, and more. | more info »

Madison Jobs (jobsinmadison.com)

Search job openings in the Madison area | more info »

Madison Living History

The Madison Living History Project is a place to share stories and images related to Madison’s history. These are snapshots of Madison neighborhoods, places, people, and events conveyed through conversations with and stories from community members. | more info »

Madison Metro

From Metro Transit, Madison's public transit system. Includes routes, schedules, fare information, detours, and more. | more info »

Madison Metropolitan School District Human Resources

The Department of Human Resources serves the District and the community by establishing, developing, recognizing and maintaining a quality work force for the education of our students. | more info »

Madison Senior Center

Madison Senior Center involves older adults in their community and the Senior Center, as leaders, teachers and learners; provides a balance, diverse and coordinated program; and promotes the Senior Center as a model for the aging and aged. | more info »

Madison's Neighborhoods

Neighborhood associations, plans, businesses, profiles, and maps. | more info »

Madison.com

Madison news and events. Includes Cap Times and Wisconsin State Journal. | more info »

Madison.com's Book of Business (2023)

Find services, suppliers, and information about local business and demographics. | more info »

Madison365

Madison365 aims to represent Greater Madison’s communities of color, and to foster dialog between members of diverse communities. | more info »

Manual del Conductor en Español (Wisconsin Motorists' Handbook) - DMV

El Manual del Conductor proporciona información sobre las normas y prácticas de conducir que le permitirán convertirse en un conductor seguro de automóvil o camioneta (licencia clase D). | more info »

MPL Gov Info

Long-running blog of published federal, local and state government publications. No longer updated. | more info »

Municipal Records, Office of the Secretary of State of Wisconsin

Search the digital archives of municipal records by counties and cities housed at the Secretary of State of Wisconsin. Some records go back to the mid-1800s. | more info »

MyVote Wisconsin

MyVote provides Wisconsin voters with registration, sample ballot, municipal clerk and polling place information. | more info »

Neighborhood Business Associations

Links to and a map of neighborhood business associations. | more info »

Origins of Some Madison, Wisconsin Street Names

Origins of Some Madison, Wisconsin Street Names | more info »

SCORE Madison

Provides classes and counseling for new and existing small businesses. | more info »

Small Business Development Center @ UW

at UW-Madison offers resources, paid classes, and the free Business Answer Line. | more info »

State of Wisconsin Jobs

The official State of Wisconsin governement job site. | more info »

Tenant Resource Center

Find information for tenants and landlords regarding rental rights and responsibilities; state and local rental laws; mediation services; and general housing issues. Housing counseling and information for landlords and tenants in the Madison area. See also the full text of Tenant and Landlord Rights and Responsibilities, City of Madison Ordinance 32.06(2)` | more info »

Madison Area Resources

Find out about Madison's neighborhoods, community organizations, local history, and more.

Explore Madison

Newspapers and Magazines

Local History Websites

All Madison Area Websites

Related Resources