Skip to main content

Status message

Debug: Image path is empty. in Drupal\twig_tweak\TwigTweakExtension::imageStyleFilter() (line 500 of modules/contrib/twig_tweak/src/TwigTweakExtension.php).
Drupal\twig_tweak\TwigTweakExtension::imageStyleFilter() (Line: 69)
__TwigTemplate_edda28f078f217ae2b17a90f81d28ff0->doDisplay() (Line: 388)
Twig\Template->yield() (Line: 344)
Twig\Template->display() (Line: 359)
Twig\Template->render() (Line: 51)
Twig\TemplateWrapper->render() (Line: 33)
twig_render_template() (Line: 348)
Drupal\Core\Theme\ThemeManager->render() (Line: 491)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 248)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->render() (Line: 484)
Drupal\Core\Template\TwigExtension->escapeFilter() (Line: 75)
__TwigTemplate_99bcdbccd37c076b1b3449b03a6587d3->doDisplay() (Line: 388)
Twig\Template->yield() (Line: 344)
Twig\Template->display() (Line: 359)
Twig\Template->render() (Line: 51)
Twig\TemplateWrapper->render() (Line: 33)
twig_render_template() (Line: 348)
Drupal\Core\Theme\ThemeManager->render() (Line: 491)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 504)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 248)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->render() (Line: 484)
Drupal\Core\Template\TwigExtension->escapeFilter() (Line: 103)
__TwigTemplate_d88d8e4a45ed4911237e2e3c21db144c->block_content() (Line: 432)
Twig\Template->yieldBlock() (Line: 76)
__TwigTemplate_d88d8e4a45ed4911237e2e3c21db144c->doDisplay() (Line: 388)
Twig\Template->yield() (Line: 344)
Twig\Template->display() (Line: 359)
Twig\Template->render() (Line: 51)
Twig\TemplateWrapper->render() (Line: 33)
twig_render_template() (Line: 348)
Drupal\Core\Theme\ThemeManager->render() (Line: 491)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 504)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 248)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->render() (Line: 484)
Drupal\Core\Template\TwigExtension->escapeFilter() (Line: 79)
__TwigTemplate_cf062fe3b86e1cd19b10edb0ef7351bf->doDisplay() (Line: 388)
Twig\Template->yield() (Line: 344)
Twig\Template->display() (Line: 359)
Twig\Template->render() (Line: 51)
Twig\TemplateWrapper->render() (Line: 33)
twig_render_template() (Line: 348)
Drupal\Core\Theme\ThemeManager->render() (Line: 491)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 504)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 504)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 248)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->render() (Line: 484)
Drupal\Core\Template\TwigExtension->escapeFilter() (Line: 111)
__TwigTemplate_f22000c62bdc0d9fe016d51ec3d7c007->doDisplay() (Line: 388)
Twig\Template->yield() (Line: 344)
Twig\Template->display() (Line: 359)
Twig\Template->render() (Line: 51)
Twig\TemplateWrapper->render() (Line: 33)
twig_render_template() (Line: 348)
Drupal\Core\Theme\ThemeManager->render() (Line: 491)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->doRender() (Line: 248)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->render() (Line: 238)
Drupal\Core\Render\MainContent\HtmlRenderer->Drupal\Core\Render\MainContent\{closure}() (Line: 638)
Drupal\Core\Render\Renderer->executeInRenderContext() (Line: 239)
Drupal\Core\Render\MainContent\HtmlRenderer->prepare() (Line: 128)
Drupal\Core\Render\MainContent\HtmlRenderer->renderResponse() (Line: 90)
Drupal\Core\EventSubscriber\MainContentViewSubscriber->onViewRenderArray() (Line: 97)
Drupal\tracer\EventDispatcher\TraceableEventDispatcher->dispatch() (Line: 186)
Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\HttpKernel->handleRaw() (Line: 76)
Symfony\Component\HttpKernel\HttpKernel->handle() (Line: 53)
Drupal\Core\StackMiddleware\Session->handle() (Line: 48)
Drupal\Core\StackMiddleware\KernelPreHandle->handle() (Line: 28)
Drupal\Core\StackMiddleware\ContentLength->handle() (Line: 32)
Drupal\big_pipe\StackMiddleware\ContentLength->handle() (Line: 201)
Drupal\page_cache\StackMiddleware\PageCache->fetch() (Line: 138)
Drupal\page_cache\StackMiddleware\PageCache->lookup() (Line: 87)
Drupal\page_cache\StackMiddleware\PageCache->handle() (Line: 50)
Drupal\ban\BanMiddleware->handle() (Line: 48)
Drupal\Core\StackMiddleware\ReverseProxyMiddleware->handle() (Line: 38)
Drupal\tracer\StackMiddleware\TracesMiddleware->handle() (Line: 51)
Drupal\Core\StackMiddleware\NegotiationMiddleware->handle() (Line: 36)
Drupal\Core\StackMiddleware\AjaxPageState->handle() (Line: 51)
Drupal\Core\StackMiddleware\StackedHttpKernel->handle() (Line: 741)
Drupal\Core\DrupalKernel->handle() (Line: 19)

Business

Business Resources at the Library

Madison Public Library has a variety of services for entrepreneurs and small businesses:

  • Demographic and marketing research tools like the Reference Solutions database.
  • Thousands of sample business plans available online through the Gale Virtual Reference Library and in print form through the Business Plans Handbook collection.
  • All of our locations provide spaces for small meetings and events.
  • Access to technology: wi-fi, printers, scanners, and computers. Wi-fi and computer access are free. Printing or copying in black and white are 10 cents per page. Color prints or copies are 50 cents per page.

Central library offers:

The library works with partners to offer classes for: business, job skills, and technology. We also host service providers that offer business, career, and legal advice. And, of course, we have books and e-books on a variety of business topics. To learn more, fill out the form and connect with a Business Librarian.

*Library databases will require your library card number.*

Business Resources

Business Research Tools

Information for business planning, market research, companies, news, statistics, and directories.

Be in the business of research
Community Resources

Local Data and Online Business Tools

Local resources for small business, startups, and entrepreneurs.

It starts here, it starts now
Community Partners

Support for Entrepreneurs and Businesses in Madison

Partners in the Madison Community that provide resources for businesses.

Find local partners
Books

Books

Business manuals and resources in the library's collection.

Check out business books
Webform for Assistance

Ask a Business Question

Fill out this webform to connect with our business librarian.

Get your questions answered
Starting a Cooperative Business

Related Resources

Other resources at the library including coop information, job information, and consumer information.

Uncover more resources

Databases

Business Plans Handbook | Connect

A multi-volume collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America.
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.

Business Source Premier | Connect

Full-text (or abstracts) of articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
This resource is available to all library users via BadgerLink.

EBSCO Español | Connect

Punto de acceso a bases de datos de EBSCOhost españolas.
This resource is available to all library users via BadgerLink.

EBSCOhost | Connect

EBSCOhost includes thousands of indexed magazines, many full-text, for over fifteen years. Magazine coverage ranges from the popular to the academic. Also includes electronic content on business, medical information, and much more.
This resource is available to all library users via BadgerLink.

Encyclopedia of Associations 2023 (Gale Directory Library) | Connect

Information about national and international organizations in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.

Gale eBooks and Business Plans Handbook | Connect

Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources, including Business Plans Handbook and more. For multidisciplinary research.
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.

Market Share Reporter (Gale Directory Library) | Connect

Presents comparative business statistics with data and market description, a list of producers/products along with their market share, and cites original sources
This resource is available only in Madison libraries and remotely to patrons with Madison Public Library as their home library.

Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) | Connect

Powerful business and consumer research database, offering business and residential listings useful in searching for people, executives, creating marketing plans, conducting competitive analysis, fundraising and sales.
This resource is available remotely to cardholders with a subscribing library as their home library and in-library at all subscribing libraries.

Websites

American Community Survey | Connect

Census and demographic information from the US Census Bereau.

Census Business Builder (CBB) | Connect

Determine the best location for your business using Census data.

data.census.gov (formerly American FactFinder) | Connect

Access all data and digital content (e.g., demographic and economic data) from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Data.gov | Connect

Data, tools, and resources for research, web and mobile applications, and data visualizations.

NAICS search | Connect

Find the North American Industry Code for industry-level data.

SBDC National Information Clearinghouse | Connect

Free entrepreneurship learning from the Small Business Development Center.

Small Business Administration | Connect

Resources for starting, financing, and managing a small business. Try the Small Business Administration's Learning Center for self-paced free online business and entrepreneurship topics.

ThomasNet | Connect

Directory of manufacturers. A librarian can provide a login for use in the library.

Wisconsin Corporate Records | Connect

Locate licensed businesses, partnerships, and companies in Wisconsin, also known as Corporate Registration Information Service (CRIS).

Local Data and Online Business Tools

City of Madison Neighborhoods | Connect

Offers demographics, associations, plans, businesses, profiles, and maps.

City of Madison Open Data | Connect

Catalog of open data sets and visual tools from the City of Madison.

Food Business Development at UW Extension | Connect

The UW-Madison Extension's Community Food Systems Program focuses on supporting food entrepreneurs.

Wisconsin One Stop Business Registration Portal | Connect

Find the requirements and tools you need to start a business in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Technology Council Entrepreneur's Toolkit | Connect

Information for tech businesses on incubators, networking and capital.

Local Support for Entrepreneurs and Businesses

City of Madison Office of Business Resources | Connect

Provides services and assistance to businesses in the city.

Grants Information Collection | Connect

at UW-Madison's Memorial Library.

Madison Cooperative Development Coalition | Connect

The Madison Cooperative Development Coalition (MCDC) is the City of Madison-funded initiative to form worker cooperatives that address income inequality and racial disparities by creating living-wage union jobs.

Neighborhood Business Associations | Connect

Links to and a map of neighborhood business associations.

Patent and Trademark Library UW (+research guide) | Connect

Steenbock Library is a designated Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC). Patent librarians provide patent and trademark information and searching assistance for the general public and the UW-Madison community.

SCORE Madison | Connect

Provides classes and counseling for new and existing small businesses.

Small Business Development Center @ UW | Connect

at UW-Madison offers resources, paid classes, and the free Business Answer Line.

WWBIC | Connect

Wisconsin Women's Business Initiative Corporation offers business classes and lending.

Books on Business and Entrepreneurship

Find up-to-date listings of library materials in our catalog, ordered from newest to oldest:

Small Business Manuals

Financing Your Business

Subscribe to our Business Resources Newsletter for the most up-to-date information about new books, partnerships, and events.

Business Model You

Tim
Clark

The global pandemic threw hundreds of millions of people out of work, sparking career crises worldwide. The revised edition of the 100,000 selling Business Model You now adds powerful new material for the 40 million U.S. workers in healthcare, education, government, the military, and nonprofit/social enterprises who do not consider their professions as "businesses" and who are typically averse to business jargon.

Start Your Own Business

Rieva
Lesonsky

The practical, easy-to-follow advice from Lesonsky takes you step by step through the startup journey and guides you through the first three years of business ownership. You'll find the comprehensive, in-depth information you need to bring your business to life, plus dozens of work sheets and checklists you can use to measure your progress along the way.

Understanding Digital Marketing

Damian
Ryan

Understanding Digital Marketing looks at the world of digital marketing: how it got started, how it got to where it is today, and where the thought leaders in the industry believe it is headed in the future. The book shows readers, in a practical and comprehensive way, how to harness the power of digital media and use it to achieve the utmost success for their businesses.

Business Plans Handbook

Gale Research Inc.

A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout America. Typical business plans include type of business; statement of purpose; executive summary; business/industry description; market; product and production; management/personnel; and financial specifics. This edition also contains a business plan template and two fictional business plans — all of which can aid users in developing business plans of their own.

Madison.com's Book of Business

Wisconsin State Journal

The Wisconsin State Journal's guide to Madison-area businesses. Find services, suppliers, and information about local business and demographics.

Consumer Information Digital Resources

Consumer Info

Information about products, businesses, and consumer protection.

Consumer Info
Jobs and Careers Madison Public Library Resource Guide

Jobs & Careers

Library services and online resources for job seekers.

Jobs & Careers Guide
Madison Cooperative Development Coalition

Cooperative Businesses

Check out the Madison Cooperative Development Coalition for starting a cooperative business.

Learn more about this City of Madison initiative
Wireless Printing Computer Use Computer Classes Madison Public Library

Digital Inclusion

Resources for Wi-Fi, tech support, access to devices, and more. 

Technology skills and connections